Best play honors goes to 'Oliver!'
Thursday, August 31, 2006
Stephen Cefalu

At last weekend's Alvin Awards ceremony at Playmakers Theatre, the big winner was the theater itself.

Master of ceremonies Frank Levy remarked that this was the theater's most successful season and Playmakers is still in existence due to the hard work of its dedicated volunteers.

As always, the festivities started off with the large crowd of theater-goers dining on chefs Ronnie Pogue and Melanie Burke's delicious jambalaya, penne pasta casserole and salad.

Then Levy reminisced about the theater's 50 years, including its recovery from a devastating fire years ago and the $210,000 of damage after Katrina.

President Kay Files presented longtime volunteers Judy and Russell Krogsgard with an honorary Lifetime Patron Award for their efforts in spearheading the post-Katrina rebuilding of the theater.

The Alvin Awards are named in honor of Alvin Bertel, who donated the land for the theater.

  • Melanie Burke won the favorite costume Alvin Award for her work on "Oliver!"
  • Russell Krogsgard won the favorite set Alvin Award for "The Foreigner."
  • There was a tie for the Alvin Award in the favorite supporting actor category.
    The winners were Randy Aultman for his performance as Victor Velasco in "Barefoot in the Park" and Jeff Falkenstein for his performance as Bill Sykes in "Oliver!"
  • The Alvin Award for favorite supporting actress went to Sandy Landry for her performance as the slightly overdramatic mother, Ethel Banks, in "Barefoot in the Park."
  • The Alvin Award for favorite actor went to Ladson Poole for his performance as Fagin in "Oliver!"
  • The Alvin Award for favorite actress went to Carrie Helm for her performance as Nancy in "Oliver!"
  • The Alvin Award for favorite play was "Oliver!" which was directed by Lynn and Randy Perkins.

Playmakers' tradition is to award each director with a commerative plaque.

Those were presented to the following directors: Frank Levy, "The Barn, A Tribute to 50 Years at Playmakers"; Kay Files, "The Foreigner"; Anne Pourciau, "Barefoot in the Park"; and Lynn and Randy Perkins, "Oliver!"

Each director gives out a special award to someone deserving who made a significant contribution to the production.

Levy presented founding member Elizabeth Maloney the Trooper Award for "The Barn, A Tribute to 50 Years at Playmakers."

Files presented Paula Leffmann, Troy Jackson and Donna Goode with her production's Trooper Award. Pourciau presented Michael Eddy with her production's Trooper Award.

The Perkins presented a Ham Award to Oliver Sibley for his work as a young Fagin. They also presented a Trooper Award to stage manager Kathy Zenore.

Entertainment for the evening was provided by the cast of "Oliver!" and choreographer/dancers Cal DeSmith and Jacquelyn Achord. Board of directors elections were held during the evening and those elected to serve on the theater's board for the 2006-07 season are Betty Lancaster, Jill Lane, Frank Levy, Randy Perkins and Wendy Schneider.

Playmakers' 2006-07 season of shows includes "The Dining Room," "Dearly Departed," "The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (abridged)," "Crimes of the Heart" and "Babes in Toyland."

For information, call 893-1671 or go online to


The Information represented here in no way influences or represents decisions by the Board of Playmakers. If the information is incorrect, please notify Playmakers. This is done as a free service. All changes must be approved by the Board of Playmakers. Contents of this site PlayMakers, Inc. 2001, PO Box 724, Covington, LA. 70434 or phone 985-893-1671 for reservations.
Subscribe to PlaymakersNews
Powered by